Conversational journeys over cups of chai, at home and abroad.

Side Tracked…

It all started out innocently enough…

I was on my way home from the car mechanic, and feeling very under the weather with a sore throat which was quickly turning into a cold.  I wasn’t hungry, but I wanted some soup to take to work with me later… and I didn’t feel like making it myself.  Then I suddenly remembered Chado’s delicious vegetarian vegetable soup…

A quick illegal U-turn led me to an empty metered spot on Holly.  I lucked out with a little more than an hour’s time already paid for…

As I was placing my soup order to go, the aroma of scones got the best of me…

A hot pot of Earl Grey tea, two whole sandwiches (chicken and cucumber, thank you very much) and a healthy portion of soup later, I sat there completely stuffed, with a silly grin on my face… relaxed… and had this most wonderful experience of being away on vacation.  It felt like a month in the country.  There was a buzz of conversation around me… but this most wonderful feeling of calm… my cold symptoms virtually disappeared…

Then I polished everything off with a ginger scone and fresh strawberries and cream… DELIGHTFUL!!!!  It was a wonder that I finally remembered to order my soup to go!

I returned to my parking spot fully rejuvenated, with 8 minutes to spare.

P.S.  Sorry to say your Favorite Chai Guy wasn’t there… I think he’s moved on to the new Hollywood location… which we’ll have to try out when you come home.  🙂

— Patty

Chado Tea Room is located in Old Town Pasadena, CA

Comments are closed.